“Rounding is more difficult than first appears. It appears straight-forward. To round a number you decide how many decimal places or significant figures you need then you look one digit further to see whether the final digit stays the same or goes up. Presto – there is rounding in a nutshell. Yet my university students struggle with rounding to a surprising degree. I did a Youtube search on rounding for a video to help them, but to no avail.

I wrote a script for such a video. I’m afraid it won’t be appearing any time soon as I now have to work for my living (as opposed to being an academic ) but the exercise was interesting. What I realised is that rounding is about communication. It has nothing to do with mathematics and everything to do with expression.”

Read more…Rounding is about communication.

